UF “Guys and Dolls”

guys-and-dolls-logo

The latest production in the 2013 UF theatre season opens this Friday October 18, running through Sunday October 27. Premiering on Broadway in 1950, this Frank Loesser (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying) musical has been a standard in the canon since its inception. It is based on short stories from the ’20s and ’30s about New York City gamblers, features a great score and uses a lot of fun period vernacular.

This show hits a bit of a soft spot for me because I Mitchell Wohl actually starred in Guys and Dolls all the way back in the seventh grade, which would qualify as my “prime.” I played epitome of cool Sky Masterson. The one-and-only Marlon Brando famously beat out the also-one-and-only Frank Sinatra for the role in the 1955 film. Frank had to settle for the other male lead Nathan Detroit who, despite running a notorious crap game, is still whipped by his fiancée of 14 years. But that didn’t stop Sinatra from recording Masterson’s main song from the show “Luck Be A Lady” and turning it into a hit number.

I guess this gives me a reason to try and dig up the great fan footage (a.k.a. my parents) of my star turn. I’m sure I’ll find it somewhere and lament all the time that’s passed since then.

Leave a Reply

